Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
9/22/2017 12:11:25 AM
Posted: 5/27/2003 1:57:57 PM EDT
I am getting my Paramedic back with an eye towards practicing in the pre-hospital setting. I am wanting to work with a transporting ALS service in a metro area (probably Albuquerque). At this time I am not interested in ER tech jobs or with a flight medic service. I really miss the good and bad of being in the mud and blood. When I was last working in EMS, the rage for EMT's was to buy and wear body armor while on duty. Is this still an accepted practice or has this changed? I am of the mindset that the scene should be safe before I even enter. I am a Paramedic, not a SWAT member or LEO and will leave the cuffing and stuffing to the boys and girls in blue. Basically, have things changed for the worse to the point of needing body armor? Thanks in advance. (You see Sherm, I AM a dinosaur!)[:D]
Link Posted: 5/27/2003 9:14:04 PM EDT
While I have seen medics wearing body armor, it is usually the Newbies. The experienced ones stop wearing it on the first really hot day. In my area, the medics (and even fire engines) will stage several blocks away until the cops get there and clear the scene. Save your money. Dave
Link Posted: 5/28/2003 6:17:58 AM EDT
It is about 50/50 here in Tulsa and OKC, we allow our folks to buy them on a payroll deduction if they want. We can get a better price that way for them. We don't mandate them but it makes some of our people feel better. I have 2 of them and don't wear them when I am in uniform on the streets. If I were workinmg in the streets again I still don't think I would wear one.
Link Posted: 5/28/2003 11:15:07 AM EDT
That question came up in class last night (I just started EMT-B). The answer was that here in MA, it is common in Boston, and to some extent in Worcester.
Link Posted: 5/28/2003 11:26:31 AM EDT