Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 9
Posted: 9/21/2005 4:34:42 AM EDT
Link Posted: 9/21/2005 4:46:20 AM EDT
I read about this case a while back.

Home school.
Link Posted: 9/21/2005 6:32:25 AM EDT
Sheesh.

First the public school teachers & administrators complain that parents don't get involved in taking an active role in their childrens' education.

Then when somebody does they get indignant.

A central point here is "Who owns the children?"

Are they wards of the state, and the parents' role is to feed and clothe them while the .gov agencies indoctrinate them?

Or, do the parents have final say in the subjective topics apart from the three R's, such as morality and social issues?
Link Posted: 9/21/2005 6:53:16 AM EDT
[Last Edit: 9/21/2005 6:55:25 AM EDT by TheRedGoat]
Link Posted: 9/21/2005 7:04:10 AM EDT

Originally Posted By TheRedGoat:
Call me crazy, but as a public school teacher my religious views were never required for me to teach a class.

Teaching a Christian based group of ethics seems to be the the talk of the town. Christians want Christian values in the class.

the argument seems to be 'there are more of us, and this is how we want it done'.

We're not talking teaching religion. It's morality.

Should a parent, regardless of religion or the lack of it, have a say in what his child is taught when it comes to moral issues?

Is it even the role of the school to teach such topics? Education should stick to education and not participate in social indoctrination.

Teach the kids how to read, write, and do math. Leave moral teachings to the parents, rather than becoming an advocate for fringe social groups.
Link Posted: 9/21/2005 7:14:39 AM EDT
[Last Edit: 9/21/2005 7:16:56 AM EDT by arowneragain]
tagged.

<---gonna read other opinions before offering his own

<---divided on this issue.

edited to clarify:

I'm divided on the larger issue, i.e. religion and morality and how much to teach in school.