Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Site Notices
Posted: 8/12/2007 4:41:10 PM EDT
Link Posted: 8/12/2007 4:59:37 PM EDT
I'm a noob so I haven't had this happen . I guess I would let it sit out for awhile and air out. How does it look? No mold or mildew? Lite it up and report back?
Link Posted: 8/12/2007 5:12:44 PM EDT
Link Posted: 8/12/2007 5:42:57 PM EDT
That is common with cigars frrom an island south of Miami...college chemistry is now years behind me but I think ammonia is a natural product of certain flora. In other words, fire it up!
Link Posted: 8/14/2007 11:02:40 AM EDT
Thats why I keep my cigars naked in the humidor - no cellophane to impede gas exchange, breathes more, ages faster.
Link Posted: 8/14/2007 11:11:24 AM EDT
This used to happen with some pot I would buy when I was in high school.

Ammonia is the waste product of certain anaerobic bacteria. I used to leave my pot in the fridge uncovered and it would disappear.
That would dry a cigar out, but exposing it to oxygen in a humidor would probably let the ammonia evaporate and kill the bacteria.
Link Posted: 8/15/2007 12:31:45 AM EDT

Originally Posted By PTM76:

Ammonia is the waste product of certain anaerobic bacteria. I used to leave my pot in the fridge uncovered and it would disappear.
That would dry a cigar out, but exposing it to oxygen in a humidor would probably let the ammonia evaporate and kill the bacteria.

wrong forum dude
Link Posted: 8/15/2007 12:38:18 AM EDT
I get that sometimes when I open my "coolador" for it's bi-weekly airing out. I was told long ago that this is a normal thing.
Link Posted: 8/15/2007 12:43:05 AM EDT

Originally Posted By Hoppy:
I get that sometimes when I open my "coolador" for it's bi-weekly airing out. I was told long ago that this is a normal thing.

+1 my frigerador does that too if I dont open it once a week.
Link Posted: 8/15/2007 1:37:33 AM EDT

Originally Posted By gaspain:

wrong forum dude