Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 9/19/2004 4:28:01 PM EST
I am looking to purchase a 1911 for CCW. I need something reliable and accurate out of the box. I am leaning toward a Commander size carried in a Milt Sparks Versamax II IWB. Anyone carry a rig like this? I am new to the 1911 but I think the slim frame will be a big plus for CCW. I am not looking for a high capacity 1911 or a LDA so I have ruled the Para's out. Max budget would be in the 1K-1.2K range. Any suggestions? Anything I should look out for? Please feel free to share pics of your 1911 CCW rig. Thanx in advance- Nugz
Link Posted: 9/19/2004 4:32:56 PM EST
Get the Sparks and a Kimber.
Link Posted: 9/19/2004 4:33:14 PM EST
1911's are so thin and easy to carry I just have a big belt (the wide green kind that are used with BDU's) I just stick it in between the outside of my pants. It is by far the most comfortable way I have ever carried a gun.

I honestly dont even realize my full size government is there, its securet too and makes for a very fast draw.

I would get a springfield or kimber. Those all have worked good out of the box. Personally I prefer a 5" gun but the commander size works well too.
Link Posted: 9/19/2004 4:37:01 PM EST
Link Posted: 9/19/2004 4:44:06 PM EST
I myself like SA's, but for 1-2k if it's available, look at Wilson's CQB pistol! It's a truly awesome defensive pistol for sure. I'd also stick with the full 5" Gov frame, it is still easy to conceal and I find the longer sight plane better IMHO.
Link Posted: 9/19/2004 4:48:41 PM EST

Originally Posted By W-W:

What model of Kimber do you carry? I have read a lot of complaints about the Series II safeties but I dont know if these are legitaimate complaints. What I am really looking for here is details regarding the pros and cons of the modern 1911's from people who trust theirs enough to carry them. Thanx W-W. - Nugz