Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 9/8/2010 4:01:25 PM EDT
I'm getting my license here soon, and I want my own bike. First off, let me say, I have plenty of experience riding and I will not be buying new, so a specific model and or year may not be possible.

I have a lot of experience riding, I raced dirt bikes when I was young, I still ride four wheelers and I borrow my Dad's Harleys (no loud pipes) pretty often. A heavy bike does not intimidate me, I've driven a dresser.

I really want a sport bike for the "fun" factor and sometime to get from point A to B with decent gas mileage. Yes, I do realize that maintenance tends to even out gas mileage to that of a car, this does not concern me. I have never ridden a sport bike, but I believe my skills put me beyond that "starter" bike range. I was thinking something like a Buell 600cc-1000cc, if I could find a Ducati for a decent price, I'd buy it too. Spending is around $3k.

What do you all think? What's a good bike?
Link Posted: 9/8/2010 4:05:50 PM EDT
[#1]

Link Posted: 9/8/2010 4:06:59 PM EDT
[#2]
get a used suzuki bandit 1200 all the fun and power u need.
Link Posted: 9/8/2010 4:08:00 PM EDT
[#3]
Quoted:

My Suzuki dirt bike fell apart on me, has their quality improved some? It was a 97 model bike.
Link Posted: 9/8/2010 4:08:30 PM EDT
[#4]
Link Posted: 9/8/2010 4:09:03 PM EDT
[#5]
Ducati 800SS.  I got mine for less than $3k.  It needs some love, but it's a solid bike.  
Link Posted: 9/8/2010 4:11:51 PM EDT
[#6]
Hayabussa, hey you never said keep insurance premiums down.

Posted Via AR15.Com Mobile
Link Posted: 9/8/2010 4:13:42 PM EDT
[#7]
Quoted:
Ducati 800SS.  I got mine for less than $3k.  It needs some love, but it's a solid bike.  
http://i472.photobucket.com/albums/rr82/valheru21/800ssRightSide.jpg

Beautiful bike, what year range is that particular one?

Quoted: