Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 10/18/2006 10:10:17 PM EDT
Is it  worth the extra  time(ATF hassle?)  &  money to  own a SBR   ??

I've been sitting on the fence about this for 6 months.

Why not just build an AR pistol ?

(obvious SBR advantage of shoulder fired weapon, but what else?)

Are  SBR's  (& pistols) anymore than range toys

Should I just stick with my 14.5" (+ phantom/vortex)  AR  carbines  ?

Link Posted: 10/19/2006 6:16:26 AM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 10/19/2006 6:56:34 AM EDT
[#2]

FWIW: i think most people wonder the same things before they get/build their first SBR, SBS, suppressor; i know i did.

after building my first AR SBR and shooting it though, i was filling out form 1's for the rest of my guns...

Link Posted: 10/19/2006 9:00:40 AM EDT
[#3]
Unless you use them for work, 99.9% of all guns are range toys.  That being said, an SBR AR was my first NFA, they seem (to me anyway) to have a smidgon higher fun factor than their title I cousins.  
Tony's post pretty much sums it up though.
Link Posted: 10/19/2006 9:02:57 AM EDT
[#4]
SBR an AR. Enjoy your freedom. Piss off a liberal.

I had an AR pistol. Later turned it into a SBR.

And with the AR, you have multiple calibers to use.
Link Posted: 10/19/2006 9:06:46 AM EDT
[#5]
My next rifle will be a SBR 9mm AR... but i don't know how/where to start.  How much $ does the SBR the said cost? and how long do you have to wait for it?

ETA: found it
Link Posted: 10/19/2006 9:08:34 AM EDT
[#6]
I just finished my first SBR, and its by far my favorite weapon that I own.  

Do it, you wont regret it
Link Posted: 10/19/2006 9:33:27 AM EDT
[#7]
Link Posted: 10/19/2006 10:26:54 AM EDT
[#8]
Thanks for all the feedback!

I'm  pretty much in the "what the hell , my as well get one "  category right now.

The  $200  isn't a big deal, I wonder if the ATF paperwork is a liability down the road.
(now on a  gov.  "list"  somewhere)