Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Site Notices
Posted: 7/22/2013 6:54:33 AM EST
I bought this FAL a couple years ago for a great price and although I know a fair amount about AR's, I'm a total noob to this platform.
So, as the title says, help me understand what I have.
Here's some markings and I'll put some pics up below.
Imbel gear marked w/ PAC import
Selector is marked S for safe, E for semi and a sloped rectangle for the auto markings
Upper is marked with FZ SA 7,62
Barrel (under hand guard) has what looks to be a Styer symbol and 7.62x51 VCL 140
Gas regulator is marked Gr and A
Muzzle break says made in USA
SN's on upper, lower and bbl are all different

I'm thinking its an Imbel lower (duh) with a Styer upper made 922r compliant. Am I close?
Is this a home build? A kit gun? Or was this made by a company?

Its in great shape and the few times I've shot it, its ran w/o issues.
What's it worth?

Any info would be appreciated.

http://i953.photobucket.com/albums/ae14/tmushung/1374507492.jpg

More pics to follow.
Link Posted: 7/22/2013 6:59:55 AM EST
Link Posted: 7/22/2013 7:22:41 AM EST
StG-58 kit assembled on a Imbel upper receiver. Most likely a home or gunsmith build.
Link Posted: 7/22/2013 12:11:33 PM EST
[Last Edit: 7/22/2013 12:12:34 PM EST by Gamma762]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By PRKsux:
StG-58 kit assembled on a Imbel upper receiver. Most likely a home or gunsmith build.
View Quote

This.

Likely built before the AW ban expired (or somewhere with a state ban) with the ban-compliance muzzle device.
Link Posted: 7/22/2013 2:04:23 PM EST
So is this a fairly good group of parts then? I know Imbel is spoken highly of. Is the Styer bbl chrome lined?
Will the break just unscrew or is it perm attached somehow?

Sorry for the continual questions but I'm trying to learn as much as I can about it.
Link Posted: 7/22/2013 2:25:17 PM EST