Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 12/29/2002 5:41:09 PM EDT
In another thread someone mentioned that it was OK to use 45 Super ammo in a Oly arms 45 ACP upper. Anyone tried this and live to tell the tale?
I'm very interested in the possibility of using this ammo in a 45ACP Oly upper to hunt deer with. Anyone ever ask Oly about it?
Would I need a stronger buffer spring? The Oly arms upper is blowback operated..would it blow the slide into my forehead? I don't want to be the test case on this...I'd love to hear from someone who knows the deal.
Link Posted: 12/29/2002 6:12:09 PM EDT
[#1]
mmmmm.....interesting.  

I have not heard of this, but I have heard that Oly sells a all steel buffer for use in their FA stuff.  Now, a steel buffer maybe enough to slow the bolt down.  Just wanted to mention that.
Link Posted: 12/29/2002 10:31:27 PM EDT
[#2]
Kali, I'm not a ballistics expert or anything, we need to get some ballistics gurus in here, but imho it isn't the speed of the bolt carrier when the spring is compressed that we need to worry about, but rather the pressure spike from the chamber pressure of the cartridge as soon as it is fired.  I don't know the details on .45 Super but I believe it has a pretty good pressure spike upon firing.  Lock time of the bolt will be affected, and you have a pretty hefty bolt/bolt carrier assembly to move there.  It takes some time for the inertia to be overcome and for the bolt carrier to start moving in the blowback system--enough time for the pressure spike to split cases or worse?  What happens when you have a pressure spike, a hotter round that decreases lock time on the bolt, unlocking it quicker, but then probably takes a very similar amount of time to overcome the inertia of the full bolt carrier assembly after unlocking the action?  I don't know, but I doubt any changes made to the buffer assembly will have much bearing on this particular issue.