Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 1/14/2009 6:31:30 PM EDT
Thanks for checking my post. I'm REALLY new to metallic reloading and I have a few questions. I'm pretty well set on what brand of reloading press I'm going to get, but I have questions about components, bullets and a few others.

FMJ vs lead bullets? Lead bullets are so much cheaper, so what's the drawback?

200 grain bullet vs 230 grain? Or should I go to a 185 SWC?

And finally powder? I'm partial to Alliant brand, I use that for my shotgun reloads and it would be nice to find a powder that I could use across the board for both shotgun, pistol and eventually rifle. That isn't a deal breaker, but would be nice.

I'm looking at a Lee Single Stage as I simply cannot afford a Dillion as much as I'd like one and cranking out 1,000 rounds a month isn't my goal. I want to save some money, but I have a great time just doing the reloading that speed isn't an issue. I already have spent brass and a set of Lee .45 ACP carbide dies.

Any help/opinions/advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Link Posted: 1/14/2009 7:06:25 PM EDT
[#1]
Check here for your powder selection, Alliant Loading Data.

Easy answer is Unique for shotgun and pistol, another powder for rifle.

Drawback of lead loads is a little smoke, and you need to wash you hands after firing and loading them.

In 45 ACP leading is not a problem.

Plus side, very accurate and cheaper.
Link Posted: 1/14/2009 7:12:54 PM EDT
[#2]
Cleanliness is next to Godliness and cost.  Lead is cheap and dirty.  Copper jacketed costs more but is cleaner.  You have to decide.  In the middle is poly coated bullets like Precision bullets.  Poly coated bullets seem like a good compromise for a volume shooter.

Your gun (unmentioned) may work best with a certain weight and style so test batches are in order.