Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Posted: 10/5/2013 4:03:17 AM EST
OK, so I have fellen in love with the Trijicon Accupoint TR24 and I want to mount one on my 2005ish manufactered Springfield SOCOM16 in VLTOR modstock.
I have some knowledge about M1A scope mounts, but not alot. I know a little about Basset, Sadlak, Smith, and Springfield, but not enough to decide which is best for me. So here are my requirements:

-I would want the scope to mount rather low, with the rear bell just above the iron sights. The closer to the same plane as irons, the better.
-The mount AND/OR the rings (30mm) MUST be quick detach, preferably with throw levers; it MUST return to zero when removed and reinstalled and with minimal tools.
-When the scope is removed (either via rings or the whole unit), the iron sights must be usable. If they are usable while it is all mounted that is a plus.
-Reliability of the rifle must remain unaffected. No additional jams allowed.
-The unit must be durable and able to withstand combat. This includes rapid fire, environmental abuse, etc. Being lightweight is definitely a plus.

So... whats my best option? Basset's website is promising, as is Smith's. The Sadlak looks good too.

ON THE OTHER HAND, what about just getting a VLTOR CASV? That would certainly provide me a sturdy mount for my optic.
Let me know! Thanks guys
Link Posted: 10/5/2013 5:25:05 AM EST
[Last Edit: 10/5/2013 5:28:28 AM EST by Essayons]
IIRC the ARMS 18 is the lowest.

ETA IMO the "best option" is LRB Arms' SR25 receiver with the long rail, but that's a $1,500+ solution after installation.
Link Posted: 10/6/2013 9:26:08 AM EST
There is no discussion needed. Only one word. SADLAK
Link Posted: 10/6/2013 11:12:37 AM EST
Sadlak & Smith Enterprise offer the best of that style.
M14.ca offers the CASM in a few different lengths.
I use the CASM-S on my Crazy Horse M21A5 EBR type SEI.
Link Posted: 10/6/2013 11:20:24 AM EST