Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 9/5/2005 8:21:15 PM EDT

I know nothing of sound suppressors, but I need to start somewhere.

What should I look at for an AR15 type that would be easy to move rifle to rifle?  Can I keep my flash hider on?  What about the Smith Vortex flash hider?  – it says it’s “Sound Suppressor Capable.”

What about .308 rifles like the FAL?

What about a Ruger 10/22?

Is there a sound suppressor faq somewhere?

Thanks for everybody’s help. I’m a complete newbie in this forum.
Link Posted: 9/5/2005 8:25:49 PM EDT
[#1]
Might be quicker if you ask in the M16/Full Auto forum.  
Link Posted: 9/5/2005 9:32:29 PM EDT
[#2]
Yes, yes, yes. You can get quick detach cans for 22mm flash supp., plus can's in different calibers.
Link Posted: 9/6/2005 5:24:49 AM EDT
[#3]
First thing you will learn is that Silencers are not really totally silent. The only one that is totally silent is for a 22, you only hear the click of the bolt.

Everything else it just muffles the sound so that it is harder to tell where the shot came from.

There was a recent eposode of Mail Call where R. Lee demonstrated all of this.

The other thing is that you need to use subsonic ammo to get maximum silence.
Link Posted: 9/6/2005 2:22:10 PM EDT
[#4]
Like mentioned above, if you want to be "quiet", then you'll need a .22LR suppressor and subsonic ammo.

Other caliber suppressors reduce the sound pressure level down below hearing damage range, but are still quite noticeable to others. My top-of-the-line .223, .308, and .45 suppressors can definitely be heard by my neighbors that live 150-200 yards away.
Link Posted: 9/6/2005 5:42:15 PM EDT
[#5]

Okay, I'll settle for "quieter."

Do the .308 suppressors "quiet" as much as the .223 suppressors?

I'm not going to shoot subsonic ammo, just my regular ammo.

Is the Gemtec the state of the art?
Link Posted: 9/7/2005 2:47:17 AM EDT
[#6]