Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 10/31/2010 7:54:28 PM EDT
I have some Bulgarian AK74 wood that I need to refinish, I'd like to attempt to replicate the glossy "Russian Red" look. How would one go about doing this and what is the best method, Rit Dye or something else? Thanks in advance, I'm pretty new to wood refinishing so I'm just not sure where to start.

Here are some photos I've lifted from various picture threads to show what I aiming for.

Link Posted: 11/1/2010 1:51:40 PM EDT
[#1]
The Russians use a shellac on their stocks, and from what I gathered Dewaxed ruby red shellac flakes is the closest thing to the original Russian red color your looking for.
Link Posted: 11/5/2010 7:58:38 PM EDT
[#2]
Bump for a few more opinions.
Link Posted: 11/6/2010 1:20:01 PM EDT
[#3]
If the red shellac doesn't do it, you can get aniline dyes from a woodworking store (not a stain, it's a dye, I think alcohol-based). It's often used by luthiers to get those bright colors on electric guitars, allowing the grain to show through in detail. They can be layered, too, like for the sunburst finishes.
Seems to me there was a thread in the Music & Musicians area of this site maybe a year ago that detailed using it.
Link Posted: 11/23/2010 6:25:24 PM EDT
[#4]
Alaskacajun did this one with food coloring

While it is not the most authentic it does come close to what you are looking for. You could also go a lil darker if you follow the red dying with a light scarlet or wine color rit dye to get closer to the color of those two pics since Alaskacajun's seems a bit more of a brighter red.

Here is the "how-to" link
http://www.ar15.com/forums/topic.html?b=4&f=78&t=116630&page=1

If this is your first time I would test on some scraps of wood first
Link Posted: 11/24/2010 5:51:43 AM EDT
[#5]
Quoted:

Here is the "how-to" link
http://www.ar15.com/forums/topic.html?b=4&f=78&t=116630&page=1