Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Posted: 7/20/2008 9:12:37 AM EDT
Need some info here please. I am in the process of rounding up reloading equipment for .223. While looking at shell holders I came across RCBS extended versions as well as the regular height.

Being a complete newbee at this what is the purpose of the extended shell holders?

Another question if I may, Lee Classic Cast vs Rockchucker Supreme? Or other single stage press. Yeah, I did search but apparently this question is so basic it hasn't been asked in the last 30 days.

Thanks for your time.

OFG
Link Posted: 7/20/2008 9:28:47 AM EDT
If it's a really tall shellholder, I think those are used for case forming die sets, but I could be wrong.

If it's a graduated height increase (+.002, +.004, etc.) it's to tailor shoulder bumping. The added height reduces the amount of bump so you aren't over sizing. Redding has had them for years.
Link Posted: 7/20/2008 10:40:17 AM EDT
Thanks, it is the really tall versoin.

OFG
Link Posted: 7/20/2008 11:34:36 AM EDT
[Last Edit: 7/20/2008 11:44:42 AM EDT by RatShooter]
There was a thread a couple days ago about opinions on the Rock Chucker for starter press, though not really as a comparison thread. I don't know anything about the Lee presses but I use some of their dies and that's good stuff.

Cliff notes for the thread mentioned: You can't go wrong with a Rock Chucker.

ETA: When searching try to use as few words as possible. You may have to look through the results a little more but something like "rock chucker" or "lee" will have more hits pertinent to your query (or maybe not)
Link Posted: 7/20/2008 11:37:22 AM EDT
Rock Chucker all the way!!! I have both and the difference is night and day!
Link Posted: 7/20/2008 1:13:45 PM EDT
Thanks for the comparative opinion.

Already have a Lee 4 hole turret press so was considering a Lee Classic Cast single stage press.