Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 6/19/2002 6:45:35 PM EDT
I've always thought extrememly highly of Armalite's products, until today.

I have been selling firearms for the last 15 years,and I've never seen this.  At my shop we sell both Colt and Armalite/Eagle Arms AR's, and I've actually seen better quality control on the Armalites than I have the recent Colts.

Last week I sold a man an Eagle Arms M15A4 rifle.  He's familiar with the AR system, and also owns a Daewoo Max-1.  Well, today he brought the rifle back because it wasn't feeding.  Yes, he was using GI mags.  Yes, the rifle was clean, and yes he was using good ammo (Win. Q3131A).  He had already called Armalite and they said that the rifle "WOULD NOT FEED WITH MILITARY MAGAZINES".  Only the factory provided 10 rounder was guaranteed to function.  

I tried dry feeding from 5 different USGI mags, 4 30rd's and 1 20rd.  Out of the 4 30's, two would feed until the last 4 rounds, then stop feeding, and two would not even chamber the first round.  The 20 rounder wouldn't feed the first round either.  The only magazines that seemed to function halfway decently were some reconditioned Orlites we had.

What made it even "worse", was that I took a brand new Armalite M15A4 carbine off the rack and tried the same thing.  Same results.

I've never, ever run into this, and up until this point I've been very high on Armalites.  The factory tech at Armalite told my customer that the Armalites and Eagle Arms would not feed from USGI mags, and that they offered specially modified GI 20 rounders for $80.00.

Now, I've used Armalites up until this point with GI mags with NO problems, but all of a sudden two rifles will not funciton at all with them.  The factory 10 round steel magazines have noticeably different feed lips compared to a GI mag.