Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 1/22/2006 4:37:53 PM EDT
At the austin funshow I saw a M1 garand gas trap. Matching as far as manufacturer, pretty nice rifle all in all. Man was asking 12grand but would take as low as 7500.

Is this a true 'value' for a gas trap. I am assuming the price is based on the few numbers made of the gas trap model.

I am having fun reading about garands while I am waiting on my CMP FG to come in.

Just curious about the price.

Information is welcome since I am a newbie to the m1 and I have figured out I will need lots and lots of ammo for it.
Link Posted: 1/22/2006 4:49:43 PM EDT
[#1]
In the Spring 05 GCA Journal, Bruce Canfield wrote that original or substantially original gas traps are selling now for $20,000 to $50,000. Damn. A gunshow gas trap for 12k is either a hell of a deal, or more likely a resto with reproduction gas trap parts.
Link Posted: 1/23/2006 4:25:30 AM EDT
[#2]

Quoted:
or more likely a resto with reproduction gas trap parts.

+1. A genuine gas trap Garand would sell for much more than that, if it were legit.
Link Posted: 1/23/2006 8:03:47 AM EDT
[#3]
I sold a genuine gas trap made in May 1940 for $38K about 6 weeks ago. Beautiful rifle. Charles.  
Link Posted: 1/23/2006 9:03:40 AM EDT
[#4]
I'm pretty new to the Garands as well.  Recently acquired an M1 manufactured in September of 1942.  She's all original, has all of the buttstock accessories, wood is AWESOME!, and I can find NO TRACES of carbon anywhere on or in her... the metal to metal parts show only the most minor wear from hand cycling...  Quite a find I think... I'm not big on safe queens, but I'm not firing this one!  Gonna have to find another for shooting! Any idea of the value of this rifle   Also, what does the "gas trap" model look like (anyone with a picture?) and what makes it of such high value? Thanks!