Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Page Armory » 50 Cal
Site Notices
9/22/2017 12:11:25 AM
Posted: 8/28/2005 5:45:35 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 8/28/2005 6:01:15 PM EDT by wicked_chicken]
Hey all!

I've been scoping out .50 rifles for a while now, and am planning on picking on up as soon as I get back from the 'box. I've been scoping out a Barrett M82a1. Does anyone have any experience with it? Any other option, thoughts? I'd love semi-auto, but I'm always open to bolt.

Edit: Perhaps I should clarify. I am looking for a heavy tactical sniper rifle. If .50 isn't what I shoud be looking at, let me know! Thanks again!

Cheers!
Link Posted: 8/28/2005 6:07:08 PM EDT
Tag
Link Posted: 8/28/2005 6:43:59 PM EDT
I have been shooting a 308 win custom tactical rifle for a few years at distances out to 1,000 yards, it can be done. The 308 as you know really is best inside 600 yards. The 308 has the distinction of having the most factory loaded match grade ammo.

For times when you want to shoot farther or when the wind is gusty or you just need more energy downrange there are really only a few well accepted cartridges (although you can use anything you like and I don't want to start an argument over calibers).

The next step up is the 300 Winchester Magnum, which will do at 1,000 yards about what the 308 does at 600 or so. Good factory match loads are available here too.

The next step is a big one, the great 338 Lapua. THis cartridge with the right bullets shoots flatter than the 50BMG, and in a custom rifle will normally outshoot the big 50 as well for accuracy. The 338 Lapua is good for 1500 yards if you have the right rifle, ammo and marksman.