Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 9/11/2004 7:32:59 PM EST
These two shotguns have been sitting in my gun vault for many many years. I'm thinking about converting one of them to a tactical shotgun. Should I choose one over then other?

Which has more accessories?

Can you provide links?

Thanks,

Bomber
Link Posted: 9/12/2004 12:03:32 PM EST
Bump....no opinions?
Link Posted: 9/12/2004 2:43:49 PM EST
I'm no expert, but the places I've seen ads for that have shotgun accessories have more tactical stuff for mossbergs and 870s than Ithacas
Link Posted: 9/13/2004 8:44:47 AM EST
[Last Edit: 9/13/2004 8:45:53 AM EST by OKLA-LAWMAN]
Ithicas are fine weapons but have fell from favor as if they have a fell to feed jam, they are damn impossible to quickly bring back into action, as they eject and load throgh the same port, There are not many accessories made for them and the way the barrels are made you can not extend the magazine.
Link Posted: 9/16/2004 8:05:42 AM EST
Ithaca 37's are great shotguns. They rarely fail. The design is solid and simple. There are not a lot of aftermarket parts for them however for "tactical purposes." You can get a sidesaddle for them and pistol grip, that is really about it.

If you want to keep things really simple (and inexpensive), buy an Ithaca 37 (Southern Ohio Guns is selling them right now for under $200 in very good conditon). This would be my first choice for home defense.

If you want to load a lot of extras on (lot of expensive crap if you ask me) to play Rambo in the house, then get the Mossberg.

My two cents.

Out
Link Posted: 9/16/2004 6:10:56 PM EST
Unless you're left-handed, the Ithaca doesn't have any advantages over the Mossberg, as a tactical shotgun.