Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 3/28/2009 8:19:48 PM EDT
So, now that I have my Lee Classic Turret set up, I'm moving on to the next phase in my never ending saga of handloading. I'm going to start loading for rifles.

I've been handloading for handguns for over 15 years, first on a Rockchucker, then on the same Rockchucker and a Dillon Square Deal B, and now with a Rockchucker and the LCT. I've never been a high volume rifle shooter, so I have always contented myself with factory rifle ammo. However, with the general cost increases of .223/5.56mm, an expected increase in my volume of shooting the same, and my general enjoyment of handloading in general, I've decided to branch out into rifle cartridges.

I know that handloading for rifles is much more involved. I'm starting out with two rifle cartridges on pretty much opposite ends of the spectrum, the .223/5.56mm and the .45-70 Government. My .45-70 shooting is going to be low enough volume that I'm going to just do that on the Rockchucker, probably in batches of 25 or less. The .223 is going to be higher volume, and I'd very much like to do it on the LCT. I don't have any interest in buying a full progressive for rifle loading right now, so my options are going to be either the Rockchucker or LCT.

Here is my general understanding of the rifle handloading process:

1) Clean brass
2) Deprime (can be done before cleaning)
3) Swage primer pocket if military brass
4) Clean primer pocket if not done in a previous step
5) Lube cases
6) Resize and prime
7) Clean brass of lube (can also be done on finished rounds)
8) Trim if necessary (can this be done effectively before resize?)
9) Clean up case mouth in the event of triming
10)Charge with powder
11)Seat bullet
12)Crimp (if crimping and not done as part of seating step)
13)Clean loaded ammo of lube (if not already done to resized cases)

So, is that about right, and am I missing anything?