Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 12/15/2010 4:48:36 AM EDT
I am looking at some .308 tracer ammo, as it is so damned inexpensive.  Equally cheap as me casting myself.

1)  I know that shooting tracer rounds is potentially damaging to the barrel, but can someone elaborate?  I am not going to shoot full auto or mag dumps with all tracers.  I am intending to shoot 3 matches with a 20 round magazine and aimed but quick shooting.  Is it the heat of rapid firing of tracers that damage the barrel, or the chemical compound that does so?  Does this sound harmful at this rate of fire?

2)  Can I remove the ignitable component at the base of the boolit by some means and thus have a damned cheap 142 grain boolit?

3)  Any other concerns or thoughts?  I can only buy these by the 1000 so I don't want to experiment.  I have no experience with tracers and have seen no info on them to learn.

Thanks...my friends
Link Posted: 12/15/2010 5:33:43 AM EDT
[#1]
I have loaded and shot 556 tracers.

I do not see how it can hurt a barrel.

You might be able to scrap the compound out, Mine were tumbled in corncob. I picked the packed in corncob out. It sucked, scraping the compound out would suck 100 fold.

Try drilling it out, or filling it with epoxy?
Link Posted: 12/15/2010 6:40:05 AM EDT
[#2]
Where are they that cheap?   I don't consider $180 for 1200 all that cheap. FYI; If you try to scrape the compound out you run the risk of igniting it one spark is all it takes. Just fill base with epoxy and they won't light. P.S., accuracy sucks. The M-25's I got from Weidners  a few years ago won't ignite more than 10% of the time, unless I CAREFULLY poke holes in the copper disc in the bottom.
Link Posted: 12/15/2010 6:48:17 AM EDT
[#3]