Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 7/22/2013 8:14:37 AM EDT
Im seriously thinking about having a SBR cerakoted, but Im wondering how if it is legal to leave my SBR with someone doesnt have SOT ?

It is my understanding you can leave it with a SOT for repairs so long as there is some sort of work order on your rifle, just not sure about a non SOT.

Otherwise could I have him do just the lower one day and then the upper the next day and that way im not technically leaving a SBR ?
Link Posted: 7/22/2013 11:58:21 AM EDT
[#1]
Doing it separately would be ok if you are unsure. A registered lower is just a lower without a long upper on it. Go back the next day "oh how clumsy of me to give you half a rifle. Hark! the other half, go ahead and paint the top like you did the bottom. I'll take that lower now. *yoink*"
Link Posted: 7/22/2013 1:57:32 PM EDT
[#2]
As long as the entity doing the work has at least a Type 1 FFL, then there is no issue leaving the gun or shipping them the gun for that matter.  A licensed gunsmith may work on any firearm, Title I or NFA.  A Form 5 is suggested for transfer but is not required.
Link Posted: 7/23/2013 7:43:18 AM EDT
[#3]
Thanks for the replies, I guess lll either have him do the upper and lower separately or just hang around the shop while he does it.

Link Posted: 7/23/2013 8:31:00 AM EDT
[#4]
Here is an idea, read the ATF/FAQ on the subject.

Q: May a licensed gunsmith receive an
firearm for purposes of repair?

Yes, for the sole purpose of repair and subsequent return to its owner. It is suggested that the owner obtain permission from
for the transfer by completing and mailing  Form 5to the
Branch and receive approval prior to the delivery. The gunsmith should do the same prior to returning the firearm. Only the face of the form needs to be completed in each instance.
Forms 5 may be obtained from the Bureau of
Branch.
Form 5 is also available on the internet at