Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 12/16/2005 8:21:59 AM EDT
I just came into possession of a Ithaca M-37. ATM it is in pieces and parts and needs a little TLC. I've plenty of experience working on ARs, AKs, FALS, etc, but I've never taken a pump action shotty apart any further than needed for a cleaning ( remove bbl, mag spring and follower).

Can anyone suggest a good website with info and hopefully a good exploded view of the M-37?

Suggest any relevant books?

Thanks in advance,
echo6  
Link Posted: 12/16/2005 12:24:48 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 12/16/2005 4:34:33 PM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 12/16/2005 4:43:00 PM EDT
[#3]
Hey Echo6, if I was around I could help you out with that, but I'm not    I have a number of Model 37s, they are my favorite shotgun (and SBS and AOW too).

The manual for the model 37 can be found at this link.

There is also the Ithaca discussion forum here.
Link Posted: 12/16/2005 6:05:01 PM EDT
[#4]
Thanks for the help guys. The main thing I was concerned with was launching a small spring into orbit when I started pulling it apart 'cause I didn't know it was there

I found a reprint of the original shop manual on e-bay and I'm going to wait till it gets here before I start tinkering with it.

It came complete w/ the original stock / forend, a Chocate(sp?) folding stock / slim forend, and a sidesaddle shell carrier. The only thing I'm lacking is a barrel but I figure I should be able to find a used 18" somewhere for cheap.

I'm also going to get to try my hand at refinishing on this one. Right now the receiver and the magazine nut are snow white. I'm seeing a nice dark OD to go along with the Chocate(sp?) black folder it came with. I need to talk a single friend into letting me use their oven, cause my Wife would kill me if I baked a gun here in the house