Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 4/8/2006 4:30:10 PM EDT
I'm new to the whole NV world and I have a few questions.

My situation is kind of a post Katrina type of deal. Right after Katrina passed through, we were without power in my mom's subdivision for roughly about 10 days. Total darkness to some light depending on the moon, stars and clouds. At first I was thinking an Eotech with NV goggles so during the day I could just use the Eotech alone. But I also have seen some really nice scopes and figured I would ask and get other's imput about my situation before I purchase.

I'm looking to spend about $2,000.00 on NV in the next 2 months and would like some advise on what would be good under the conditions listed below.

1) Urban
2) Total darkness to little light
3) Will not blind me when muzzle flashes(I pray it doesn't go to letting off rounds)
4) Ranges from 20 yards out to 150 yards
5) 2 grand or under

Thanks, Wesley

Link Posted: 4/9/2006 5:13:32 AM EDT
[#1]
  Assuming you’re talking about a self defense situation after a natural disaster (govt help and services days to weeks away), and your planning to stay put. I think a 1x NVD and the EoTech is the way to go. The FOV on the 1x will be pretty big, allowing you to see more at a glance, and the goggle works great for hand-held operation. After all, you’ll be spending the majority of your time observing, not engaged in a fire fight. You are planning to avoid the fight if possible aren’t you?
  You can go from hand-held to weapons mount in a very short time with a little practice.
  You mentioned ranges of 20-150 yards. A 1x device should work fine for those ranges. For initiating action, I would assume the ranges to be very close, possibly inside the 20 yards mentioned. At those ranges, magnification is a disadvantage and could get you dead.