Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/26/2002 9:55:42 AM EDT
The other day a fellow shooting sports enthusiast posted his opinion that: It's not a matter of IF Wolf ammo will bite you, it's a matter of WHEN.  I think that a lot of people simply parrot what they hear about a product without actually testing it themselves.  

Most posts about Wolf read something like this:  "Well, MILITIABORNKILLER2595 said that Wolf sucks... so... if you use it you will die!"

I believe in the scientific method, so I take anti-Wolf diatribes as a bit of a challenge.  

I've been shooting Wolf for a few years now and I haven't experienced all of the doom and gloom that some ascribe to this cheap blasting fodder.  

Sure, I've noticed that it is dirty.  In comparison to UMC, surplus and my match ammo it is a bit underpowered.  And I will concede that I do not cycle Wolf through my match rifle.

However, I consider Wolf to be just as safe as any other mass produced ammo on the shelf.  That being said, I tend to run a lot of it through my beater rifle.  

My current beater rifle is a post-ban Bushmaster with a neutered FN 1X7 government contour chrome lined A2 barrel with a Cav Comp permanently attached to the end.  Oh yeah, I also switched out the Bushmaster plastic trigger guard for a USGI one and I likewise added the current USGI sling.  It's about the closest thing to an M16A2 that a civilian can own in a post-ban configuration.  Also, I must mention that it has been used and abused.  That is to say that I treat it with about the same amount of TLC as I treated my M16A1 when I was PFC "Snuffy" Smith.  It's cleaned exclusively with carb cleaner and breakfree.  I use the USGI cleaning kit with with steel sectional rod to punch the bore.  And it frequently gets wet... real wet.  Needless to say, I do things to this weapon that I wouldn't dream of doing to my other AR's.