Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 11/13/2012 6:05:48 PM EDT

I am working on setting up a plate carrier for practical rifle shooting. I know that it will evolve over time, but I am looking for a general set up to get me started. I will probably have MANY questions over the course of using the plate carrier.

Let's get started!

1) Is there any reason NOT to put the hydration carier in the center of the rear of the carrier?
Link Posted: 11/13/2012 6:37:20 PM EDT
[#1]
I'm no expert but the main thing that comes to mind regarding the hydration carrier is whether or not you want to have one on there at all. Armor like that is already very heavy so I would think twice before adding much else. If you are just shooting at the range you might be better just keeping a cooler handy . If you were using it for fighting and would be wearing it for a while then yes you certainly would want water readily available.

On this topic since weight is already a big concern "Less is More". Magazine carriers, First Aid pouch, maybe a Camelback. You would add more depending on who you are and what you are doing. But "Just the Essentials" would be the theme for me.
Link Posted: 11/13/2012 7:06:29 PM EDT
[#2]
That is up to you. I practiced with it before. It gets in the way a little. I was pushes you out when sitting like driving with all your gear and a hydration carrier on you back. It adds weight. I like having the water on me when I need it especially in a desert.
Link Posted: 11/14/2012 2:48:43 AM EDT
[#3]
Link Posted: 11/14/2012 9:30:14 AM EDT
[#4]
Like most have stated plates are heavy.  Put as much as you can on a war belt set up and just run at most a 3 mag shingle on your carrier.  If that.  As far as hydration.  I would think at most a 70 ounce bladder would be best.
Link Posted: 11/14/2012 6:22:22 PM EDT
[#5]
What is your idea of "practical rifle shooting"?