Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Site Notices
Posted: 6/17/2009 7:22:47 AM EST
I have a Dillion 550B.

I just got into reloading a few months ago and have mostly just reloaded small batches to get the fundamentals down.

I am now ready to step up the volume. I will be using the ammo mostly for general range shooting, not precision marksmanship.

I have a Dillion trimmer that will be delivered on Friday and I pretty well have the case preparation down pat.

My question has to do with the powder loading. All my powder loading to date has been individual by hand measurement.

I can go with the Dillion powder system but I was thinking of getting a RCBS Chargemaster Dispenser and Scale Combo.

I know the Dillion system will be faster but being an engineer I don't have that much confidence in hand operated mechanical systems based upon gravity and a consistent hand motion.

My intuition is that the RCBS dispenser would be much more accurate than the Dillion.

I don't mind taking the time with the dispenser but I am trying to figure out if the difference in accuracy is really worth while.

I understand I can get a .1 grain accuracy with the RCBS. What can I expect with the Dillon?

Do the electronic dispensers last for a long time? I don't want to shell out $300 for one and it only last a year or so.

Has anybody tried both and reached a conclusion on which system is better?
Link Posted: 6/17/2009 8:45:40 AM EST
Link Posted: 6/17/2009 8:47:12 AM EST
[Last Edit: 6/17/2009 8:48:31 AM EST by AeroE]
Link Posted: 6/17/2009 3:22:44 PM EST
Choose a powder that measures well in a DPM and production runs are easy......But, if you spend enough time down the road....developing loads and finding sweet spots....you can have variances in charges using stick powders that really will not cause too much fussing.......Google Optimal Charge Weight Load Development and you will see about variances....
Link Posted: 6/17/2009 3:22:45 PM EST