Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Page Armory » 50 Cal
Site Notices
10/20/2017 1:01:18 AM
9/22/2017 12:11:25 AM
Posted: 8/1/2005 6:45:06 AM EDT
[Last Edit: 8/1/2005 11:18:44 AM EDT by BillSP1]
I am just getting into 50BMG and will be handloading for it. I presently use a Dillon 550B press for 308 Win and a host of other calibers, but will have to get another (bigger) press for 50BMG. I see Hornady has a press and dies available for $399. I also read that Lee is offering a Classic cast press with dies for $175. Has anyone used the Lee 50 BMG press/dies?

Wideners has a selection of 50 BMG brass, bullets, and powder. As I understand it the pulled bullets are fine for any non-match shooting, what about surplus powder?

Where do you get 50BMG primers?

Any reccomendations on presses and/or components will be appreciated!
Link Posted: 8/1/2005 6:55:33 AM EDT
I use the RCBS, it is the same as the Hornady just no lock and load, it was cheaper and more readily available. Weidner's had the best price, I also bought a case (200) of virgin IMI brass.

Hornady 750gr bullets, .50 BMG powder and CCI primers. The primers I ordered through a local dealer it took a couple of weeks, but they were cheaper.
Link Posted: 8/1/2005 9:38:47 AM EDT
Try Pat's Reloading www.patsreloading.com for surplus powder and other components.

Hi-Tech ammo and River Valley Ord also sell surplus stuff www.hi-techammo.com and www.rvow.com

If you buy 4 jugs of powder at a time they waive the haz-mat fee.
Link Posted: 8/1/2005 11:25:14 AM EDT
I am thinking on the Lee kit you can get from midway fro 150.00. They guys who have them that are aon bighammer seems to like them. If don't get it willget a hornady one most likely. I hear good of all but the lee being just as good and a lot cheaper.
Link Posted: 8/1/2005 11:26:06 AM EDT
Good information guys! Much appreciated, keep it coming.

Akethan: sounds like some good precision loads!