Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/6/2015 10:07:52 PM EDT
I've been shooting my STG-58 at 500 yards for the last twenty years. It is my go-to rifle for rapid-fire,semi-auto matches. I win most of the time.
I tried the rifle at 800 yards and it was no challenge at all. I used my match loads I shot in the Navy and the rifle put the rounds on target with no misses. Not a brag,these rifles are just that good.

The Austrian rifles are so well made,I now want to drag out my L1A1 with a SUIT Sight and see how well it shoots.

I'm hoping there is enough front screw adjustment to allow the 124 inch drop from 500 to 800 yards bullet drop.
Have any of you shot the SUIT farther than 500 yards? What needs to be done?
Link Posted: 4/6/2015 10:52:43 PM EDT
[#1]
Nice shooting.  What size and type of target were you using?
Link Posted: 4/6/2015 11:25:45 PM EDT
[#2]
3x3 foot target with a 12" center. I was able to keep 8 of ten shots in the center
Link Posted: 4/6/2015 11:30:03 PM EDT
[#3]
What loads are you shooting?, I was thinking of putting my MK4 Leupold on and run some FGMM 168s at 100yd to see what kind of groups I would get, I was getting some real nice groups with Irons at 25yds when I first zeroed them.

I was shooting two rounds and then moving the sights, the strays are my brother shooting at 50.

Link Posted: 4/7/2015 6:46:12 AM EDT
[#4]
I dumped my Belgian FALs when the StG58 I have turns out to be more accurate. I don't know what exactly it is that it does but I'll say this. It just gets incredibly great groups and I am not complaining.
Link Posted: 4/7/2015 1:37:18 PM EDT
[#5]
Quoted:
I've been shooting my STG-58

The Austrian rifles are so well made

View Quote

Does the number on the lower match the number on the barrel and bolt/carrier?

Looks like four digits?
Link Posted: 4/7/2015 8:26:34 PM EDT
[#6]
Yes,the numbers match. I have the receiver stub somewhere in my shop.