Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 7/24/2002 5:54:20 AM EDT
I'm thinking about one.
Seems like a good idea, for a great all around rifle.

Any experience out there with this weapon?
Link Posted: 7/24/2002 7:13:12 AM EDT
[#1]
no one?
Link Posted: 7/24/2002 9:27:32 AM EDT
[#2]
I have no personal experience with it, but you may want to check at http://www.rugerforum.com to find comments about it.
Link Posted: 7/24/2002 9:39:43 AM EDT
[#3]
I was looking at one this past weekend...seem pretty nice..different from the old 44mag carbine with the tube feed..more like mini 14 ..just gave it a cursory fondle.. I heard a rumor about making a short rifle in that 480 ruger
super redhawk cartridge...in an auto loader hmmm...all we need is 20rd mags.
I heated up that link for ya
www.rugerforum.com
Link Posted: 7/24/2002 9:49:02 AM EDT
[#4]
I just sold one to a guy with a Nikon scope added,nice gun shoots well,don't care much for the wood though.
Link Posted: 7/24/2002 12:32:50 PM EDT
[#5]
I just bought a 99/44 that was little used. It's a really neat rifle. It is somewhat sensitive about ammo. Mine likes IMR4227 when reloaded for. Shoots anywhere from 3/4" to 2" three shot groups at 50 yards using an Aimpoint 3000 depending on the ammo. I've got a post at the Ruger Forum about it. There's a link above.
Link Posted: 7/24/2002 9:51:41 PM EDT
[#6]
I've shot one. 180gr ammo shot way high, 240gr was on the money. Personally I see this as a solution looking for a problem. A lever action 44 would be better/more fun, IMO. A .30 Carbine would be more appropriate, IMO.

Your money though.
Link Posted: 7/24/2002 10:41:10 PM EDT
[#7]
No first hand experience, but I think they are neat, handy rifles.

Here is a Guns and Ammo review:

www.gunsandammomag.com/dynamic.asp?intSectionID=199&intArticleID=750
Link Posted: 7/24/2002 11:57:49 PM EDT
[#8]
I have one.

Background: