Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page Armory » Blades
Posted: 9/5/2003 9:16:27 PM EDT
I'm getting bit with the make it yourself thing, damnit.  

I know I', getting better with my cheesy grinder, since this took about 1hr to get mostly shaped and started on the edges.  

It's 1080, which I've never used before, but grinds easily.  Thinking antler handles, and an edge quench.  Maybe.  

(I am in progress on about 4 other blades at the same time.  I need to get good at heat Treating now)
Link Posted: 9/6/2003 8:34:14 AM EDT
[#1]
Lookin' good. Post it when finished.
Link Posted: 9/6/2003 6:31:41 PM EDT
[#2]
Well, a couple more pics, but it's not going to get finished.

Between quenching and tempering, there is a 1/2" crack up the edge.  didn't hear it during the quench, so it might have happened during the temper.  Dunno.  I etched it in vinegar to see if there was anything interesting hiding, but doesn't look like it.  

Link Posted: 9/7/2003 6:00:00 AM EDT
[#3]
Looks like that one is finished. Too bad.

I guess this is where the forgers have an advantage. Back in the fire and let's start over.
Link Posted: 9/7/2003 11:34:58 AM EDT
[#4]
Professor, how did you do your quench?  What medium and at what temperature?  I have had 1095 crack before, albeit rarely, but never 1080 or 1084.  Did you temper immediately after the quench?  I have heard of the 10xx series of steels cracking occasionally if there was a long delay between the quench and temper cycles.
Link Posted: 9/7/2003 1:30:13 PM EDT
[#5]

Quoted:
Professor, how did you do your quench?

I had water, heated to 150.  Left in their for about 30-50 seconds, pulled it, went to the pre-heated toaster oven at 425.  After an hour of that, I took it down to the grinder and with a 320 belt cleaned off the scale and found my handy crack.  

Any suggestions on avoiding this will be greatly appreciated.  I guess I will try oil next time for quenchant.