Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
9/22/2017 12:11:25 AM
Posted: 9/26/2005 3:35:31 PM EDT
If this is the wrong forum, please feel free to direct me to the right one! I'm new to my M44, and 7.62x54r. When I bought my rifle, I also got some surplus ammo. I purchased 60 rounds, 14 of which I did not fire due to holes in the brass, or burrs around the primer. Needless to say, I wasn't very happy with the quality of this. I found a few sites to decode it, it turns out it was Albanian ammo from 1985. So, my question is, with all of the surpluss ammo around from all these countries, what is the stuff that people generaly stay away from? What is the stuff that is perfered to buy/shoot? Is my first experience common? Thanks for any advice.

Link Posted: 9/26/2005 3:40:41 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 9/26/2005 3:41:33 PM EDT by djenkins]
You just never know about anything made in Albania.

Looks like you got a nice rifle though.

Dennis Jenkins
Link Posted: 9/26/2005 4:35:51 PM EDT
Yes honestly Albanian not very reliable. Shoot what you got, Throughly clean after every shoot ,if you want you can go with "SILVER BEAR" steel cased, or South African ammo which is very good, Or hell just stick with the NON COrrosive ammo that WON'T tear your bore to hell like a bad can of beans.
Link Posted: 9/26/2005 5:19:55 PM EDT
The Albanian's visual quality is real questionable, BUT, I've shot a whole lot of it and it always went bang - the first time - and I never had any problems with it. YMMV.
Link Posted: 9/26/2005 7:05:46 PM EDT

Originally Posted By Pthfndr:
The Albanian's visual quality is real questionable, BUT, I've shot a whole lot of it and it always went bang - the first time - and I never had any problems with it. YMMV.