Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 10/17/2008 8:24:30 AM EDT
hey guys -

i know the threads of new builds are getting ridiculous now but i am also a noob that is planning a build.  i will for sure build it myself with the exception of a completed upper.

i have heard that CMMG parts will build up a nice rifle.  my current plans include CMMG stripped lower, CMMG LPK, CMMG two stage trigger, skeleton stock, CMMG completed upper.  then optics, light, etc. later not included in the $1250.

i know i can build a rifle for less than $1250 but that is the budget i set and want to build it right the first time.  i want to build a rifle that is very versatile and that i will not out grow right away.  of course the first one leads to the second one.  ha ha.

SO....  if you had $1250 to build a rifle, what parts would you use ?  and why ?

am i on the right track ?  what brand parts do i use ?  stripped lower ?  LPK ?  two stage trigger ?  completed upper ?  (also what twist ? 1/7 or 1/12?  CAR or mid length ?)

what is the difference in a CAR upper vs. midlength, etc ?

like i said i'm new to this and any help to get me on the right track would be greatly appreciated.

thanks

tom

Link Posted: 10/17/2008 8:28:53 AM EDT
[#1]
not much these days..
Link Posted: 10/17/2008 8:35:25 AM EDT
[#2]

Quoted:
hey guys -

i know the threads of new builds are getting ridiculous now but i am also a noob that is planning a build.  i will for sure build it myself with the exception of a completed upper.

i have heard that CMMG parts will build up a nice rifle.  my current plans include CMMG stripped lower, CMMG LPK, CMMG two stage trigger, skeleton stock, CMMG completed upper.  then optics, light, etc. later not included in the $1250.