Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Posted: 7/18/2008 5:59:50 PM EST
i am new to the ar-15 scene. i just picked up a new ar yesterday. while i was at the gun shop, i picked up 2 new magazines. they were both in plastic with a tag that said "colt ar-15, 30 round 5.56."

i got them for $12 a piece and they looked brand new. there's no stamping on them at all as far as manufacturer. they have the light/soft green followers.

now for the issue, once they get down to the last 2-4 rounds, it jams the rifle and the rounds just pop out of the clip. the one time i got down to the last round, it stuck the chamber open like it was empty, which left one round floating around in there.

i plan on ditching these, but i was just wondering if anyone knew what they were
Link Posted: 7/18/2008 6:54:56 PM EST

Originally Posted By spoolin7:
i am new to the ar-15 scene.

Welecome spoolin7.

i got them for $12 a piece and they looked brand new. there's no stamping on them at all as far as manufacturer. they have the light/soft green followers.

now for the issue, once they get down to the last 2-4 rounds, it jams the rifle and the rounds just pop out of the clip. the one time i got down to the last round, it stuck the chamber open like it was empty, which left one round floating around in there.

i plan on ditching these, but i was just wondering if anyone knew what they were

By your description, I'd say they aren't anything to hold on to. Quality USGI Mil-spec mags will have the mfg on the floor plate and usually a date code or other numbering on the mag body.

Sly
Link Posted: 7/18/2008 7:05:29 PM EST
If there are no stampings on them & they are giving you problems, I'd take them back to the gunshop you got them from & ask for your money back before ditching them. They are nothing special.

You can get quality USGI surplus mags out of the EE for cheaper.
Link Posted: 7/18/2008 9:14:03 PM EST