Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 8/15/2004 7:41:00 PM EST
hi, was wonderin if anyone could identify this upper i saw at the gunshow. i dont have any pics of it but i remember the markings clearly on it.

its an A2 upper with a bird cage flash suppressor without a bayonet holder/lug. one of the 2 markings on it where on the barrel right infront of the forward iron sight. it read "DCS" with a "1-9" right under it. the other marking was after the aft iron sight on the handle and it read, "F" with a funny "keyhole symbol" right next to it. i figured the 1-9 was the barrel twist ratio.

im very new to these types of guns and have no idea what the letters meant. the whole upper was of very good quality. i looked at uppers on complete colts and bushys and it seemed to be of equal or better quality.

the upper in question had the bolt with it too. it too looked like very good quality.

I asked the dealer what kind of upper it was and he said it was manufactered by FN. the same company contracted to make our militarys rifles... but thats BS because itd be illegal for FN to sell to the civilian market, but if it is FN how did he get a hold of a whole upper?

thx, i appreciate your time and help!
Link Posted: 8/15/2004 8:06:51 PM EST
oh ya, it was a M4 profile with the bumps in the barrel. 16" barrel.

also i remember seein a thread on here that had what all the different markings mean, but i dont know where i found it at. anyone know?

thx
Link Posted: 8/15/2004 8:23:33 PM EST
[Last Edit: 8/15/2004 8:24:25 PM EST by Aussie_E]