Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Ammunition
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 12/16/2009 10:24:07 AM EDT
I have several thousand rounds of .22lr. Currently they are in their orginal boxes (bulk packs of anywhere from 333 rounds to 525 rounds) and then in 50cal ammo cans. The boxes take up a bunch of space in the cans. Would it be alright to take the rounds out of the boxes and put them in heavy duty zip locks and then in the cans. I think I could eliminate atleast one of my 50cal cans with the sapce savings of getting rid of the original packaging. Any problems with this?

Thanks
J-
Link Posted: 12/16/2009 10:36:10 AM EDT
[#1]
In before the "why store ammo in ammo cans crowd."

I have no experience in such matters, but I think you are better off as is. If one in a million .22 rounds packed in a .50 cal can goes off from being smushed up in there with thousands of others and then sets off a bunch of others, well that would be bad. What's one in a million you say? If you already have a few thousand, you could be well on your way.

Not to say this can't happen in the boxes as is, but even if it makes it just 3 times less likely, you would be better off.

I guess the question is, do the manufacturer's package them for safety's sake or just in convienient quantities?
Link Posted: 12/16/2009 10:37:19 AM EDT
[#2]
I can't see you saving that much volume. They pack those boxes pretty good.  Unless the top of your ammo cans isn't filled...  I think you'll be fine however.
Link Posted: 12/16/2009 10:43:59 AM EDT
[#3]
I doubt you'll gain much with the Ziploc bags.  I'd leave it boxed.  If you do decide to store it loose then tear the lot number off the box and keep it in the baggie with the ammo.
Link Posted: 12/16/2009 11:18:13 AM EDT
[#4]
If you ever intend to barter the ammo for food or other essentials the original package would be preferable.  The ammo may be a very valuable commodity.  Just my .02