Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 10/14/2008 4:10:36 PM EDT
ok guys I am a newbie again to ARs  have spent many many years now playing with AKs but decided to bite the bullet and buy an AR before the next election......so here is my question

how do I properly sight my AR in?    I am looking at my front sight post and it says up going clock wise....cant remember will this bring my POI up?  or will it just bring the sight post up bringing POI down?

also the rear sight has a windage knob.....going clock wise takes the rear sight to the Right?  or turing clock wise brings POI to the right?

now most importand question.....at what distance should I zero her in?  I know the 556 round is a pretty flat round as far as trajectory......I would like to sight the rifle in and be dead nuts on at 100yrds.....if I do that will I be dead on out to 300?

what do you guys recommend for sighting in?  

now last question.....what ammo?  I am thinking of sighting in with 62 grain, what are the recommendations?  62 or 55?    I have a 1/7 barrel    if I do sight in with 62 gr  will it be very far off using 55 gr also?

thanks fellas
Link Posted: 10/14/2008 4:33:16 PM EDT
[#1]
Zero the small sight at 25m and it's on again at 300m and all the adjustments match up. The large sight (0-200) will also zero at 50m and 200m.

Zero the small hole at 50m and it's on again at 200m but the markings on the sights won't match up, and I don't know what it does to the larger sight.

Yes, screw in the post and the POI raises. The front sight "chases" the POI to zero, the rear "runs away".
Link Posted: 10/14/2008 4:44:38 PM EDT
[#2]
50 Yards.  Point of aim = Point of impact.  This will keep you within a few inches out to roughly 220 yards.  
Link Posted: 10/14/2008 4:47:11 PM EDT
[#3]