Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 10/3/2004 7:39:12 AM EST

I am pretty confident that I am going to build my own ar some time within the next month or so. I am strongly looking at a model-1 20” standard model. I have not yet decided on a lower receiver but I am a college student on a bit of a budget so something in the 100-150 dollar range is what I am looking for. My questions are. Is the model 1 a decent gun for the money? I was look at an ASA kit but I heard horror stories about their function, and when I sent them an e-mail I didn’t get any reply so that tells me something about their customer service. What type of tools will I need to put together the lower? Are there any magazines that work better than others? Is it possible to later put a collapsible stock on the 20” riffle? Would that look cheesy? Thank you all in advance for the incite, this forum has been a life saver for me so far.
Link Posted: 10/3/2004 10:25:52 AM EST
I can relate. h2) I recommend the drift punch set from Bushmaster. As for the buttstock assembly, I'm not sure what type of tool, if any, is required for a fixed buttstock.
Link Posted: 10/3/2004 10:42:37 AM EST

Originally Posted By snowborderlb:
What type of tools will I need to put together the lower? Are there any magazines that work better than others? Is it possible to later put a collapsible stock on the 20” riffle? Would that look cheesy? Thank you all in advance for the incite, this forum has been a life saver for me so far.