Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 12/19/2005 12:29:10 AM EDT
Hey all.  New to the forum and have a question.  I am building my first AR and want some opinions on whether I should piece together a lower or just buy one complete.  I have an upper about 80% complete and I also have the complete buffer assembly and buttstock already.  Pricing stripped lowers and complete lower kits seems to come out around the same price as buying the complete lower(Looking to buy RRA).  I have many years of experience using the AR style guns, but never done a complete build (down to the smallest pin and spring), so any advice on this build is appreciated.
Link Posted: 12/19/2005 2:54:23 AM EDT
[#1]
Buying a complete lower and building one won't be a huge difference in cost. Why not try building a lower? I'm no expert  but I recently built my first lower and it took me about an hour.  It was really quite easy and at least now I know I can replace anything that needs fixing.

Since you already have the buttstock, you will save quite a bit just getting the lpk and receiver.
Link Posted: 12/19/2005 3:03:15 AM EDT
[#2]
Build.  I recently built my first and learned alot.  It is much easier than I originally thought it would be.

Give it a shot.
Link Posted: 12/19/2005 3:39:17 AM EDT
[#3]
Welcome to the boards

Build, you get what you wont the 1st time. You can save a few dollars by building you just need to shop around
Link Posted: 12/19/2005 4:20:08 AM EDT
[#4]
actually building your first one is going to be a bit more expensive then buying a pre-assembled lower.

the cost of tools has been forgotten but then it saves on the rest of your builds. though some have gotten away with using kitchen utensils for building the lower.

i would build to get the idea of what's going on.
Link Posted: 12/19/2005 9:34:41 AM EDT
[#5]