Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 9/20/2004 3:43:29 PM EDT
anyone know about thier quality and reputation?
Link Posted: 9/20/2004 5:34:50 PM EDT
[#1]
I have never had any of their parts, but have looked them over at gunshows, and passed.. Doesnt really resemble quality to me...
Link Posted: 9/20/2004 5:46:35 PM EDT
[#2]
If you do a search, you'll find that most people are happy with them. I'm pleased with the superlight barrel I ordered from them.
Link Posted: 9/20/2004 5:47:23 PM EDT
[#3]
Junk, and they're assholes.  
Link Posted: 9/20/2004 5:47:35 PM EDT
[#4]
Most people that own a Model 1 kit, are satisfied. Hard core Colt or Bushmaster people are rarely impressed by a "kit". It all comes down to this. Do you actually get what you pay for? Or is this all a brand-name game?

I think (I am no expert), that there is a point in price where you are no longer achieving significant improvements in quality. Is a standard Bushmaster rifle really $500 better than a standard A2 kit from JT or Model 1? Will it be $500 more reliable? Or last $500 longer? Will the fit and finish be $500  better?

I have read about Colt and Bushmaster. Colt in particular spends more time and money on quality control. Parts, materials and function are all tested and contructed by higher standards. Kits are probably not even tested in any way or form.

I think the Model 1 Kit is fine. I have a decent eye for detail, and I don't see it to be any different from any major brandname makers. After all, these are military style type rifles. For the price, the kits are plenty fine. If you are worried about function, read here a while - colts, bushmasters, armalites everything has failed to funciton or has had something break. Nothing is perfect.