Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 8/12/2005 9:53:23 PM EDT
Alright, I'm new to the building it yourself thing. All the rifles that I have purchased in the past were complete rifles. Anyway

Is LEWIS MACHINE & TOOL the same thing as LMT? I'm pretty sure I want a LMT upper but I'm unsure if there is a difference between the two.

Second, I'm trying to decide if I want to pay the $200 extra and go with a 14.5" barrel or stick with the 16" Do I need to go with an upper cut with M4 feed ramps or not. What are M4 feed ramps anyways?
Link Posted: 8/12/2005 10:14:52 PM EDT
yes, lmt=lewis

check the FAQs, m4 ramps are there, also about 30 threads floating around.
Link Posted: 8/13/2005 6:10:23 AM EDT

Originally Posted By schapman43:
Alright, I'm new to the building it yourself thing. All the rifles that I have purchased in the past were complete rifles. Anyway

Is LEWIS MACHINE & TOOL the same thing as LMT? I'm pretty sure I want a LMT upper but I'm unsure if there is a difference between the two.

Second, I'm trying to decide if I want to pay the $200 extra and go with a 14.5" barrel or stick with the 16" Do I need to go with an upper cut with M4 feed ramps or not. What are M4 feed ramps anyways?

There are lots of LMT sellers at the Equipment Exchange section of this site, maybe now is the time to buy it because most of them are overstocked and will have lower prices.

It's your personal choice which one to get first between the 14.5" and 16" barrel.

ARFCOM way is usually get both. I have a 16" M4 LMT (upper and lower) carbine and it's fine.

M4 Feed Ramps thread link

Lewis Machine & Tool Company (LMT) website link
Link Posted: 8/13/2005 7:30:56 AM EDT
[Last Edit: 8/13/2005 7:31:50 AM EDT by BH1]

Originally Posted By schapman43: