Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 6/14/2003 7:16:52 PM EDT
I just received my very first AR-180B, even my firstArmalite, I'm ecstatic guys, its a beauty, my first semi (military style) for a Canadian that's pretty good.  A bunch of the guys I hunt with in early November (Deer) say that the .223 doesn't have enough punch to stop a deer after it's been popped, I beg to differ with them.  I think it will more than do the job within 200 yards, especially within the thick brush we hunt in Ontario, I know that the deer are a bit bigger up here, but a properly placed shot should do the job, do you agree or not?
Link Posted: 6/14/2003 7:21:49 PM EDT
[#1]
I've heard stories of 55 gr FMJ stopping deer with one shot under 150 yds.  I have no experience with this however.
Link Posted: 6/14/2003 7:37:49 PM EDT
[#2]
Since you're new here - I guess we can re-hash this again.

A .223 will kill a deer. So will a .410 shotgun, a ball-peen hammer, or a .22 short. It's just a matter of hitting them in the right place.

I hunted deer with my old stainless 'Mini' for a few years, and had some spectacular successes, and some failures too.

If you hit a 250 lb Mule Deer buck in the heart/lung area with a .223 64 gr. powerpoint - you've just gotten yourself a few hours of searching for a wounded deer.

If you hit one in the neck/head/spine - you'll get lightning fast kills.

That being said - I don't do it anymore - a .30 caliber round gives you a lot more room for error.

Link Posted: 6/14/2003 7:42:00 PM EDT
[#3]
From personal anecdotes....

Yes, .223/5.56 will stop a deer and do it quite well.

There are better tools for the job however...check your hunting laws as many states prohibit hunting under a certain caliber.  Virginia's is .23 caliber...

Ed
Link Posted: 6/14/2003 7:42:04 PM EDT
[#4]