Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Ammunition
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 1/15/2009 10:50:37 AM EDT
Picked up some 223 ammo at Walmarts for about 40 cents a rnd.  Not bad.  Federal 55gr FMJ brass.

Dyno
Link Posted: 1/15/2009 11:00:57 AM EDT
[#1]
Been lots of posts re:  Wally World ammo lately.  Consider yourself lucky to find a store with some left since it seems most stores have been picked clean.
Link Posted: 1/15/2009 11:18:02 AM EDT
[#2]
Quoted:
Been lots of posts re:  Wally World ammo lately.  Consider yourself lucky to find a store with some left since it seems most stores have been picked clean.

This one has been now.  They had 5 boxes left and I took'em all.

I am new to 223, I figure the Federal ammo is as good as the PMC brass ammo.  The PMC I can get for 400.00 for 1000 which is also a good price.
Link Posted: 1/15/2009 1:52:55 PM EDT
[#3]
Quoted:
Quoted:

I am new to 223, I figure the Federal ammo is as good as the PMC brass ammo.  The PMC I can get for 400.00 for 1000 which is also a good price.

If you ever get into reloading the PMC will probably be better for your purposes than the Federal (as mfg in the past). Hang onto both brands after you shoot them, but especially the PMC.

Link Posted: 1/15/2009 2:23:42 PM EDT
[#4]
Quoted:
Quoted:
Quoted:

If you ever get into reloading the PMC will probably be better for your purposes than the Federal (as mfg in the past). Hang onto both brands after you shoot them, but especially the PMC.

What makes PMS superior?

When it comes to reloading Federal... i've actually had good luck reloading primers without taking out the crimp!  I used CCI 400 small rifle primers for 500 rounds.

All went bang, no slam fires or anything other mishaps either
Link Posted: 1/16/2009 8:24:37 AM EDT
[#5]
Saving all my brass.   If I don't get into reloading I figure once fired brass is worth something to someone that reloads.
Link Posted: 1/16/2009 4:50:32 PM EDT