Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Maintenance & Cleaning
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 4/25/2003 3:56:01 AM EDT
For years I have used a light film of grease on semi-auto sliding surfaces.  Just a tiny bit on the end of a q-tip goes a long way.  I have used it on my 1911 pistol, AK and SKS rifles and have shot thousands of rounds through them with minimal wear to the sliding parts.  I clean and relube after every shooting session.  I’m new to AR type rifles and don’t understand why this is not good for them as well.  Can anyone educate me?  

I like CLP for protecting from rust, but prefer Hoppes, hot water and dish soap for cleaning with Hoppes gun oil for general lubricating.  Old habits and all that :-).

Thanks

Hoppy
Link Posted: 4/25/2003 4:15:39 AM EDT
[#1]
Believe the "no grease" thoughts relate to it's propensity to cause an accumulation of dirt, sand and grit which most associate with it's use.

Mike
Link Posted: 4/25/2003 12:40:15 PM EDT
[#2]
Exactly.

The AR-15 is in a league of its own regarding lubrication, due to the fact that a huge gust of crud is blowing into the action with each shot.

Add to that the fact that a whole bunch of .223 can be fired in fairly short order from one rifle, and the resulting carbon, soot and residue buildup rapidly becomes an issue.

Grease will work if you just want to fire a few rounds per session, with degreasing between sessions...and then only in warm weather.

CLP has the wonderful quality of being able to dissolve and 'float' fouling inside the action. This means that even though the lube really does catch the crap, it redeems itself by breaking it down and keeping things slick.

Add a big dose of powder fouling and soot to your average grease, synthetic of otherwise, and you soon have lapping compound! Rub steel and aluminum together in the presence of this gack and watch those parts shrink! Yikes.