Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 8/22/2008 1:07:16 PM EDT
I want to build an AR, and I keep looking at all the different add-ons, but I can't seem to find all the parts I want in the same color.    Am I missing something?    Are they all the same color just a different name?    Please enlighten me!    I am new to this stuff, so pictures would be really helpful!
Link Posted: 8/22/2008 1:15:04 PM EDT
[#1]
Problem is, Military has not come out and said one particular shade is mil spec FDE or Coyote. So everyone is making their own shade and calling it FDE or Coyote or Tan. So Vltor, Tango Down, Magpul, etc. all have ther own and none of them even come close to matching. Only way to match is to stick with one accessories maker or have your stuff coated or paint it yourself.
Hell, to be honest, no one's black matches either. People just over look it. Some blacks are more gray dominant, some are blue, some are green.
Link Posted: 8/22/2008 1:24:33 PM EDT
[#2]
All I know is the Desert Tan by Duracoat is the same exact color as the dirt here in Utah.  That's why I like it so much, on muddy days in the desert I become one with the dirt
Link Posted: 8/23/2008 4:53:40 AM EDT
[#3]

Quoted:
Problem is, Military has not come out and said one particular shade is mil spec FDE or Coyote. So everyone is making their own shade and calling it FDE or Coyote or Tan. So Vltor, Tango Down, Magpul, etc. all have ther own and none of them even come close to matching. Only way to match is to stick with one accessories maker or have your stuff coated or paint it yourself.
Hell, to be honest, no one's black matches either. People just over look it. Some blacks are more gray dominant, some are blue, some are green.

Thanks, but that isn't what I wanted to hear.   Why can't they make my life easier, and let me get the parts I want in the same darn color without painting them?