Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
10/20/2017 1:01:18 AM
9/22/2017 12:11:25 AM
Posted: 9/18/2005 4:53:52 PM EDT
OK first of all I have a Bushmaster M4 14.5" w/ a permanately attached izzy flash suppressor so removing the FSP is not an option for me.

Now I have the plasic stock bushmaster handguards and was wandering what the advantages are, besides mounting lights and extras on, of other tubes. For example Troy makes a MRF-C but I would have to cut off my delta ring. Other companies make 2 piece aluminum handguards.

Now I also have the factory handguard cap on which I would either have to use with some 2 piece handguard, hopefully compatable, or remove it, which I would have no idea how to.

What company makes 2 piece handguards that would work with my current setup and are quality made. Cost is not an issue. But also like my origional question, what are the advantages of getting rid of my stock ones?

yes it is a newbie question, but I am a newbie.
Link Posted: 9/18/2005 5:11:25 PM EDT
The idea is the handguards don't touch the barrel. Supposedly, it's more accurate.
Link Posted: 9/18/2005 5:19:22 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 9/18/2005 5:22:37 PM EDT by jackal2001]
that would be for free floating only, correct?

So if I got just aluminum 2 piece snap ons or the Troy MRF-C, that would make no difference compared to my factory handguards?

What about heat dissipation? Would I get better cooling moving to aluminum 2 piece?
Link Posted: 9/18/2005 5:43:33 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 9/18/2005 5:45:01 PM EDT by M4Madness]
The main advantage would be rails to mount accessories. Some of the two-piece handguards are considered free-float even though they don't require removal of the barrel nut. This is due to the fact that they clamp down on the outside of the barrel nut somehow and that is their only point of contact. It's safe to assume that they will dissipate heat well also, as they have lots of vent holes.