Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Variants
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 11/28/2014 1:30:44 PM EDT
I have a friend/co-worker that wants me to help him build a 6.5 Grendel.
He has been wanting one since I met him 2 years ago but after just going through a divorce at the time he had to wait.
Now he almost has the funds together to do it.
Since I have little experience with what are the best parts for one I need you guys help.

What make barrel do you own and why do you like it.

Not a troll, really need some help to help him.

Edit: If your barrel is not listed please post what it is.

Thank you

Link Posted: 11/28/2014 1:50:04 PM EDT
[#1]
I just went all out and bought a Lilja 319 fluted. Still seeking a couple more parts to finish the build though so I can't comment on liking it or not yet.
Link Posted: 11/28/2014 2:51:03 PM EDT
[#2]
Poll needs the ability to enter multiple choices. I have...

AA 16" ER Shaw
AA 17.6" Lilja
Satern 18"
Lilja 18"
Lilja 16.5"
Lilja 22"
Brownell's 18"

Top of the line is going to be where a good smith takes a blank and makes sure everything is concentric, barrel extension is square, threads are square, shoulder square, concentric.

Precision Firearms does that.  You'll typically have a sub-1" rifle at 200yds with his uppers.

The higher end AA uppers are very accurate as well.  I've seen them shoot under .25" at 100yds, and easily ring the flagger IPSC at 700yds until it's boring.

JP is another great route for a high end build, that is also lightweight.

For more affordable uppers/barrels, J&T Distributing makes some excellent 6.5 Grendel uppers in 16", 20", and 24".  The AA entry uppers are actually quite affordable, and have been in high demand for years.

Shilen makes a 20" heavy drop-in barrel/bolt combo.

Specialized Dynamics makes great uppers already set-up/configurable.  He caters largely to the predator hunting crowd, and 6.5 Grendel is his most popular caliber.