Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Ammunition
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 3
Posted: 2/15/2006 6:33:37 AM EDT
I am new to the AR but I was wondering what type of ammo you guys use in your AR for home defence? I dont want to overpenetrate the walls and ect.
Link Posted: 2/15/2006 6:35:17 AM EDT
[#1]

Quoted:
I am new to the AR but I was wondering what type of ammo you guys use in your AR for home defence? I dont want to overpenetrate the walls and ect.

75gr OTM - either Black Hills or Honady TAP.  See the tacked threads at the top of this forum for more info.
Link Posted: 2/15/2006 7:05:03 AM EDT
[#2]
While it is much more likely that I'll call upon a pistol for home defense...I keep some mags partially loaded with Hornady 55gr. V-Max or IMI M193 ball.  Defense implies a pretty short-range situation and I think 55 gr. loads are more than adequate for that type of thing.  YMMV.

dvo
Link Posted: 2/15/2006 7:07:52 AM EDT
[#3]
xm193.
Link Posted: 2/15/2006 7:10:35 AM EDT
[#4]
Winchester 64grn. Power Points and BH 77grn. SMKs.

Mike
Link Posted: 2/15/2006 7:10:43 AM EDT
[#5]

Quoted:
I keep some mags partially loaded with Hornady 55gr. V-Max

You expecting a home invasion by Woodchucks?

Defense implies a pretty short-range situation and I think 55 gr. loads are more than adequate for that type of thing.

It's not about the range - it's about what the projectile will (or won't do) when it strikes the agressor.  That 55gr VMAX won't penetrate nearly enough.  Please go back an read the threads tacked at the top of this forum.
Link Posted: 2/15/2006 8:22:25 AM EDT
[#6]

Quoted:

Quoted:

You guys are harsh.  
Link Posted: 2/15/2006 8:27:46 AM EDT
[#7]

Quoted:

Quoted:

Defense implies a pretty short-range situation and I think 55 gr. loads are more than adequate for that type of thing.