Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 10/11/2004 6:51:00 PM EST
[Last Edit: 10/11/2004 9:18:59 PM EST by clubsoda22]
I'm a newbie to AR's but i've done a little research.

I want to get started on building my own AR15 before some politician gets around to banning them again, but i need help compiling a parts list.

Here's the rules. I don't want to break the bank, But i want a top-notch combat-ready carbine. It will preferrably look badass too, but that's secondary. Spending money really isn't the isue if it means getting quality, but if one part is just as good as another, i don't want to be paying for a name. Frankly i don't care who's roll mark is on the receiver as long as it is quality.

The main thing about my project is i'm an AK47 buff who wants a reliable as hell gun that is ergonomic. My solution, gas piston AR. Found what i think i'm looking for at kurts custom (opinions on kurt's?). If i'm going wih a gas piston, i'm probably going with a side folding stock from Ace since i won't have that tube to contend with.

As for other parts, who to go with for inexpensive but good? I'll need a stripped lower, parts to complete a stripped lower, Upper receiver and components.

Here's some things i want, and some i don't want as well as some questions i have:

-16" barrel with standard threads for a phantom flash supressor.

-A comfortable grip.

-A handguard free of unnececary accessory rails, at most, a rail on the top, though i think even that is unnececary.

-Is a free floating handguard preferrable?

-To attach stuff i'd rather go with a tri-mount gas block thereby not sacraficing a comfortable grip.