Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Site Notices
Posted: 10/22/2006 4:42:09 AM EST
OK, Im new to cleaning AR and the last time I cleaned the barrel the rod got stuck in it when I tried to patch it. On my pistol I use a jag that looks like a blunt end with a little spike and it pushes the patch through. I have one that looks more like the threading end of a needle for my AR rod. Everytime I push it in it gets jammed in the same place, right past the chamber and it's binding on the metal rod. I can see it where its chipping the cheap red SAF T covering off Right behind where you screw on your attachment. When I use a brush or a mop it doesn't happen. I had an extra push type jag around that was plastic and I tried that and it seemed to bend right where it screws in which would coincide with the missing red right behind it.

Twice last night it screeched like metal on metal, so I gave up I used my mop to finish dying and oiling. Now this barrel has seen som wear as I bought the rifle used as a preban, but I do intend on getting a new upper and if this happened to a new barrel Id be pissed.

Im going to get a new rod not this cheap SAF T crap, but what if anything, am I doing wrong. Whats the right way to secure the patch to the thread type jags? Does anyone have a pic of a patch in one of these jags?
Link Posted: 10/22/2006 4:59:26 AM EST
Are you sure it's not a .30 cal rod?
Link Posted: 10/22/2006 5:07:10 AM EST
Well I threw out the wrapper but Im pretty sure its .22. Like I said the brush and mop go through fine. Just when I put a patch on it.
Link Posted: 10/22/2006 5:07:30 AM EST
i use that jag to run a oily patch thru the bore. i don't try to clean with it.
if you can run the rod thru with the mop it's not to big.
so the "needle" jag is wrong.

i would use a Dewey Rod.

use the standard brass jag to patch
use a brass brush rod to scrub you can wrap a patch around the brass bristles and soak it in solvent.