Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 7/31/2005 12:13:06 PM EDT
I am new to ACOG sights and need a little advice please. I have a Trijicon TA31F on the way and have a LaRue Tactical mount to place on top of my Bushmaster XM-15 with A-3 upper. This AR-15 has the conventional iron front sight. Will the TA31F sight picture be obstructed by the iron sights when I install it on top of the A3 receiver and LaRue Tactical mount or do I need to buy a new upper receiver without front sights to get a clean picture?? THANKS
Link Posted: 7/31/2005 12:18:44 PM EDT
The front sight will be a barely visible blurry black line. Some folks mind it, others don't. You will know which way you go on this when you get yours mounted up.

If you don't like the FS in your view, you can just replace it with a folding front sight. Which type of folding front sight you can use will depend on your rifle's configuration.

If you have a rail system, you can get a rail mounted flip-up FS. If you have standard handguards, you can get a barrel mounted flip-up FS or a railed gas block with a rail mounted flip-up FS.
Link Posted: 7/31/2005 12:56:14 PM EDT

Originally Posted By Matt_B:
The front sight will be a barely visible blurry black line. Some folks mind it, others don't. You will know which way you go on this when you get yours mounted up.

If you don't like the FS in your view, you can just replace it with a folding front sight. Which type of folding front sight you can use will depend on your rifle's configuration.

If you have a rail system, you can get a rail mounted flip-up FS. If you have standard handguards, you can get a barrel mounted flip-up FS or a railed gas block with a rail mounted flip-up FS.