Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
Posted: 9/24/2004 6:20:14 AM EST
I'm rather new to the scene and don't have any reliable local resources, so forgive my newbish questions. I'd like to keep a few magazines loaded in case TSHTF, but I've heard wildly varying stories about springs taking a set after a period of time.

It seems the most common advice I've heard is to do a 90% load (i.e. 18 rounds in a 20 round magazine) for long-term storage. Is this accurate?

Should I look at getting stronger springs for the magazines I want to keep "ready?" Should I `switch' magazines every couple of months to keep even wear? With a decent LULA, that should only take a couple of minutes.

Additionally, I'm looking at buying a sizable quantity of 30-round DPMS Teflon-coated mags with green followers, but some vendors also have an option to add a "Chrome-Silicon" coated spring replacement. This generally costs between $2.50 and $4.00 per magazine. I'm guessing this is generally a rust-resistant measure. Is that the case? If so, is ~$3.25 a decent price for the upgraded spring? Are these springs generally equivalent to USGI specifications for power?

It seems like it is a decent price for upgrading to a rust-resistant spring. I don't mind spending a few bucks extra for a better quality magazine. Thanks for the help!
Link Posted: 9/24/2004 7:55:07 AM EST
[Last Edit: 9/24/2004 7:55:19 AM EST by StewartTR]
You need to read this www.ammo-oracle.com your question and many others will be answered there.
Link Posted: 9/24/2004 10:03:26 AM EST
Link Posted: 10/17/2004 6:30:04 AM EST
Does everyone else agree that this is not an issue? I could save alot of shelf space if I store all my mags loaded rather than unloaded.

If you do not store your mags loaded, why not? Just wanting to hear multiple points of view.
Link Posted: 10/17/2004 6:45:50 AM EST

Originally Posted By Amric: